The STEM Podcast

Your Best Mum Crop Ever (Part 3)

August 1, 2019

Interview starts at 3:45 - Our guest today our guest today is Dr. Will Healy who returns to wrap up a three-part miniseries focused on garden mum production intended to help you produce the absolute best mum crops you possibly can – using the most effective strategies. This time, Dr. Healy is back to guide you from the core production season to the end of the process – finishing strong and timing your crop for prime retail appearance and sell through. We start by checking in on the crop growing in real time and what any early-season, natural season mums should look like above the pot and below the pot. Then we revisit thermoperiodicity and how to time your crop during hot days in the field. The Will discusses what to do if the crop is too big or not big enough. We cover black cloth techniques and Will’s tips and tricks for getting that right. Finally, we conclude with a number of quick hit topics from pests and disease to speeding up and slowing down a crop in an effort to send the absolute best garden mums to market on time. Like I mentioned back in Episode 30 – part one of this series - we’re not releasing these episodes back to back to back but instead when they are most relevant – because many of you listen in real time. As with the first two – episodes 30 and 35, this is a great episode to share with your entire team – because keeping mums on schedule and in line requires a team effort. So grab a notebook, sit back and enjoy the last in a three-part miniseries to lead you to mum stardom.

Resources:

NEW Ball Mums Page with Graphical Tracking Tool: https://www.ballseed.com/gardenmums/
Ball Mums Catalog with Culture and Propagation Guides: https://www.ballseed.com/Virtual/2018_mums/index.aspx
GrowerTalks Special Editions: https://www.growertalks.com/SpecialEditions/
Ball Seed Chrysanthemum White Rust Awareness Document: https://www.ballseed.com/PDF/Chrysanthemum-WhiteRust-Awareness-2018.pdf
Cornell University Chrysanthemum White Rust Alert & Management: https://www.ballseed.com/PDF/Chrysanthemum-WhiteRust-Alert&Management-June2018.pdf
EC Monitor: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VVVEUI?pf_rd_p=2edffb5d-036e-4cd0-bc77-99980e2d4856&pf_rd_r=0BYNK2B0GCMMRYBKW6K9
Infrared Thermometer: https://www.amazon.com/Non-Contact-Digital-Infrared-Thermometer-58%C2%B0F-1022%C2%B0F/dp/B07LBN33VT/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=infrared+thermometer+greenhouse&qid=1564421671&s=gateway&sr=8-3

 

Dr. Healy’s Past Episodes:
STEM Episode 35: Your Best Mum Crop Ever (Part 2) - https://stempodcast.podbean.com/e/stem-podcast-insider-tips-for-greenhouse-pros-your-best-mum-crop-ever-part-2/
STEM Episode 30: Your Best Mum Crop Ever (Part 1) - https://stempodcast.podbean.com/e/your-best-mum-crop-ever-part-1/
STEM Episode 21: The Language of Watering - https://stempodcast.podbean.com/e/the-language-of-watering/
STEM Episode 22: Watering: The Rest of the Story - https://stempodcast.podbean.com/e/watering-the-rest-of-the-story/

 

Contact Links:

Email Guest Dr. Will Healy: whealy@ballhort.com
Email Ball Mum Hotline: bscmumhotline@ballhort.com
Ball Seed Customer Relations and Mum Help: 1-800-879-BALL
Email Host Bill Calkins: bcalkins@ballhort.com

NEW! Connect on Instagram - @STEMGreenhousePodcast

#STEMGreenhousePodcast

Tweet Host Bill Calkins: @billcalkins
Connect with Ball Seed on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/ball-seed-co/
Follow The Gardens at Ball on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GardensAtBall/
See Ball Seed Videos on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/BallSeedVideo